Goodbye, Rupert Murdoch

Dr. Munr Kazmir
4 min readSep 21, 2023

Considering his replacement, progressives might be celebrating a tad early.

2015 Global Leadership Award Dinner Honoring Rupert Murdoch. Hudson Institute was honored to have Rupert Murdoch accept the 2015 Global Leadership Award. Dr. Henry Kissinger introduced Mr. Murdoch and Mrs. Marie-Josée Kravis delivered closing remarks. (Photo: Hudson Institute)

Rupert Murdoch, whose creation of Fox News made him a force in American politics, is stepping down,” reported David Bauder for the Associated Press this week.

“Dear Colleagues,” began Murdoch. “I am writing to let you all know that I have decided to transition to the role of Chairman Emeritus at Fox and News.”

“For my entire professional life, I have been engaged daily with news and ideas, and that will not change,” continued Mr. Murdoch. “But the time is right for me to take on different roles, knowing that we have truly talented teams and a passionate, principled leader in Lachlan who will become sole Chairman of both companies.”

“Neither excessive pride nor false humility are admirable qualities,” the elder Murdoch continued in his resignation announcement. “But I am truly proud of what we have achieved collectively through the decades, and I owe much to my colleagues, whose contributions to our success have sometimes been unseen outside the company but are deeply appreciated by me.”

“Whether truck drivers distributing our papers, the cleaners who toil when we have left the office, the assistants who support us, or the skilled operators behind the cameras or the computer code, we would be less successful and have less…

--

--